Some things are too hard to ignore

I made a deliberate decision to play average American for the holiday season (Thanksgiving – New Years) and pretend like there’s nothing important going on in the world besides toy sales, holiday programming, and baked treats.  It’s nice.  I’ve been avoiding my regular news outlets & political blogs like I avoid laundry and trash: I know it’s there, it has to be dealt with, but I’m just going to live another day in blissful denial.  Well, a couple of headlines have managed to slip by my blinders and I’m compelled to post briefly.  Here goes…

US National Debt Tops Debt Limit. Umm, I’m *pretty* sure this is illegal under the Constitution.  But who cares about that petty inconvenience.  Certainly not Obama, whose got a fevah, and the only prescription is more deficit spending! We. Are. So. Fucked.    Americans really need to revisit the absolute brilliance of our founders, even though it’s already too late.  We must not let our rulers load us with perpetual debt. We must make our election between economy and liberty or profusion and servitude. If we run into such debt, as that we must be taxed in our meat and in our drink, in our necessaries and our comforts, in our labors and our amusements, for our calling and our creeds…[we will] have no time to think, no means of calling our miss-managers to account but be glad to obtain subsistence by hiring ourselves to rivet their chains on the necks of our fellow-sufferers… And this is the tendency of all human governments. A departure from principle in one instance becomes a precedent for[ another]… till the bulk of society is reduced to be mere automatons of misery… And the fore-horse of this frightful team is public debt. Taxation follows that, and in its train wretchedness and oppression.”

Our disgusting Congress will vote on a bill that the majority of the country does not want. And in typical congressional fashion, the piece of crap will only make it to vote because of political payoffs, not because of validity, truth, conviction…  I mean, most issues are, in fact, black or white.  You either believe in it or not.  There is no room for bribery, or at least there shouldn’t be.  So here we go.  Although this monstrosity is going to go through despite the majority of Americans’ wishes, I do find the grossness of the process from the spring to present to be an ironic vindication of my libertarian inclinations.  How, after all this, folks can continue to relinquish their money, choices, personal liberty to government is unfathomable at best.  And, for now in the spirit of CHRISTMAS, I’ll be kind and leave it at that.

“Don’t read that filthy Bible, kid.  Here, borrow my copy of Twilight.” I can’t tell you how often lately I’ve wished there was a way I could opt- out of my school tax and use it towards private education.  I’m so over this moronic sort of misinterpretation of “separation of church and state.”

On a final note, I hope you’ve been doing your homework re. the Copenhagen bullshit.  Don’t kid yourselves, kids; this all has precious little to do with the eonvironment and a lot to do with global politics (read – the world leaders hate America because we are, for now, capitalists.  A rare glimmer of reality slips through here, for example.  Anyone else find it amazing that China is more “American” than America these days?

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

