How to Appeal to Simple Minds: 101

1.  get a group of “celebrities”

2. Have said “celebrities” dumb-down and trivialize a complex, dire issue by demonizing rich insurance executives.

3. Make up statistics

WILL FERREL & MOVEON.org Look Like Dopes

What a load of steaming, pretentious shit.   I tend to know I’m on the right side of an argument when out-of-touch, over-paid, egotistical hollywood hypocrites are on the opposite end of the issue from me. Unbelievable:  Class warfare waged by people who don’t have to worry about the govt takeover of health insurance since they belong to SAG and, conveniently, unions are exempt from Obamacare. Why is that? Hmm. It is idiotic to think that this entire problem dwindles down to the salaries of a few insurance company execs, because, ya know, there’s so little competition out there. I don’t hold it against celebrities – they get paid to act stupid. And I’m pretty sure if they sited that 80% stat there’d be a footnote up Will Ferrell’s ass.  Interesting note pointed out by allah @hotair:

Will Ferrell Salary

  • Talladega Nights: The Ballad of Ricky Bobby (2006): $20,000,000
  • Bewitched (2005): $20,000,000
  • Kicking & Screaming (2005): $20,000,000
  • Anchorman: The Legend of Ron Burgundy (2004): $7,000,000

No one who pocketed $20 million for any movie, let alone Bewitched and Talladega Nights, has any room to talk about overpaid execs.

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “How to Appeal to Simple Minds: 101

  1. Mr. Boss

    Maybe I’d have a little more money in my pocket if I didn’t have to spend 50 FLIPPING DOLLARS TO TAKE MY KIDS TO A MATINEE OF CLOUDY WITH A CHANCE OF MEATBALLS last Saturday!! Hypocrites. How dare they! Give me that god damned money back and I’ll pay cash for my next trip to the dentist. Problem solved. Dipshits.

  2. Gretchen

    Why the Hollywood activist types seem to think that their opinion is of greater value than anyone else’s is beyond me. Intelligence isn’t required to act – talent is. They have access to the public forum because they have face recognition, not because of their intellectual prowess. I struggle with the importance/unimportance of celebrity types in voter registration campaigns (e.g., “MTV’s Rock the Vote,” etc.) that are geared in pop culture. On one hand, I think it gets young voters engaged, although these campaigns tend to decidedly be one-sided. On the other hand, my kids know and will continue to understand the importance and responsibilities involved with voting. If other people aren’t teaching that to their kids, do we really want them to vote? I managed to register to vote and exercise that privilege without the outside influence of other organizations. My parents always stressed the importance… I digress, as usual.

    • betsyboss

      I can’t agree more, G. What sucks almost as much, then, is that I then can’t separate the actors’ acting from their political douche nozzle-ness. I’ve had to cut a couple of entertainers I really enjoyed out of my rotation in the past year.

  3. Gretchen

    Another example of the lunacy of Hollywood – the whole Roman Polanski thing. I don’t know the extent of what happened with him and the 13 year old, but if any other Joe Schmoe jumped bail, they’d be pursued, too. I guess he’s exempt because he’s “brilliant” or whatever. Insane.

Leave a Reply

